

WEED SCIENCE SOCIETY OF NORTH CAROLINA

Proceedings of the 36th Annual Meeting of the Weed Science Society of North Carolina March 5, 2018

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Opening Remarks - Ms. Kelly Liberator, President, WSSNC

Guest Speakers

- 1. Discovery and Development of Herbicides: The Challenges for the Next Generation of Weed Control, Dr. Greg Armel, BASF Corporation.
- 2. North Carolina's Experience with the New Auxin Technologies, Dr. Alan York, North Carolina State University, Department of Crop and Soil Sciences.
- 3. *Auxin Herbicides: North Carolina's Concerns*, Mr. Jason Williams, North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Pesticide Section.

Student Presentations

- 4. Presence and Distribution of Palmer Amaranth Resistant to PPO-inhibiting Herbicides in the NC Coastal Plain, Mr. DJ Mahoney, North Carolina State University, Department of Crop and Soil Sciences.
- 5. Palmer Amaranth Interference and Seed Production in Grafted and Nongrafted Watermelon, Mr. Matthew Bertucci, North Carolina State University, Department of Crop and Soil Sciences.
- 6. Remote Determination of Weed Species and Density in Sweetpotato (Ipomoea batatas) Using In-Situ Spectroscopy, Mr. Nicholas Basinger, North Carolina State University, Department of Crop and Soil Sciences.
- 7. Evaluation of S-metolachlor for Use in Flue-cured Tobacco Production, Mr. Drew Clapp, North Carolina State University, Department of Crop and Soil Sciences.
- 8. Influence of Timing and Degree of Weed Management on Crop Yield and Contribution to the Soil Seedbank, Mr. Drew Hare, North Carolina State University, Department of Crop and Soil Sciences.

 Palmer Amaranth Control in Sweetpotato within Reduced Tillage of Conventional Production Systems, Mr. Stephen "Cole" Smith, North Carolina State University, Department of Crop and Soil Sciences.

Panel Discussion

Observations from 2017 and Outlook for 2018

Dr. Matthew Vann, Chair, North Carolina State University, Department of Crop and Soil Sciences.

Dr. Katie Jennings, North Carolina State University, Department of Crop and Soil Sciences.

Mr. Stan Winslow, Tidewater Agronomics, Inc.

Mr. Tyler Whaley, North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.

Mr. Chris Jernigan, North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.

Guest Comments

Dr. Jeff Mullahey, Department Head, North Carolina State University, Department of Crop and Soil Sciences.

Dr. Rich Bonanno, Associate Dean, CALS and Director, North Carolina State University Extension.

Business Meeting

Mr. Steve Hoyle, North Carolina State University, Department of Crop and Soil Sciences.

Awards and Contests

Outstanding PhD Student – Mr. Nicholas Basinger

Outstanding MS Student – Mr. Stephen "Cole" Smith

First Place PhD Poster – Mr. Patrick Maxwell

Second Place PhD Poster - Mr. Brandon Schrage

Third Place PhD Poster – Ms. Shwetha Ramanathan

First Place MS Poster – Ms. Alayne McKnight

Second Place MS Poster – Mr. John Sanders

Third Place MS Poster – Mr. Marco Granadino

Officers and Memberships

Newly Elected Officers:

Vice President: Dr. Kyle Brisco, SePRO Corporation.

Executive Director (Academia): Dr. Ramon Leon, NCSU Department of Crop and Soil Sciences.

Executive Director (At-Large): Mr. Liam Vincent, BASF Corporation.

Student Representative: Mr. DJ Mahoney, NCSU Department of Crop and Soil Sciences.

Distinguished Service Award

Dr. Alan C. York, William Neal Reynolds Distinguished Professor Emeritus, NCSU Department of Crop and Soil Sciences.

Adjournment