

WEED SCIENCE SOCIETY OF NORTH CAROLINA

Proceedings of the 34th Annual Meeting of the Weed Science Society of North Carolina March 9, 2016

"New Technology in Weed Science and Environmental Stewardship"

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Opening Remarks - Mr. Kevin Clemmer, President, WSSNC

Guest Speakers

- 1. Management of PPO and Glyphosate Resistant Palmer Amaranth, Dr. Larry Steckel, University of Tennessee.
- 2. Engenia Herbicide and Stewardship in Dicamba Tolerant Cropping Systems, Ms. Kelly Liberator, BASF.
- 3. Bees: At the Crossroads of Science and Emotion, Dr. Becky Langer-Curry, Bayer CropScience.
- 4. Update on the Enlist Weed Control System, Mr. Ralph Lassiter. Dow AgroSciences.
- 5. Supporting Weed Science Research on the Research Stations, Dr. Sandy Stewart, NCDA & CS Research Stations Division

Student Presentations

- 6. *Indaziflam Rate and Timing in Muscadine and Bunch Grape*, Mr. Nicholas Basinger, North Carolina State University, Department of Horticultural Science.
- 7. Effect of Delayed Dicamba/Glyphosate Application on Palmer Amaranth Control and Cotton Yield, Ms. Rachel Atwell, North Carolina State University, Department of Crop Science.
- 8. *Critical Period for Weed Control in Grafted and Non-grafted Watermelon,* Mr. Matt Bertucci, North Carolina State University, Department of Horticultural Science.
- 9. *Timing of Weed Removal with Postemergence Herbicides and the Impact on Cotton Yield*, Mr. Matt Inman, North Carolina State University, Department of Crop Science.

- 10. *Treating Hydrilla with Fluridone in a Lotic System: Responses of Target and Non-target Species*, Ms. Shannon Auell, North Carolina State University, Department of Crop Science.
- 11. Weed Control in Inzen-Z Herbicide Tolerant Grain Sorghum, Mr. William Vincent, North Carolina State University, Department of Crop Science.

Guest Comments

Dr. Jeff Mullahey, Department Head, North Carolina State University, Department of Crop and Soil Sciences.

Business Meeting

Mr. Kevin Clemmer, President, WSSNC.

Awards and Contests

Outstanding PhD Student – Mr. Matthew Jeffries

Outstanding MS Student – Mr. Sam McGowen

First Place PhD Poster – Ms. Rachel Atwell

Second Place PhD Poster – Mr. Nick Basinger

First Place MS Poster – Mr. Sam McGowan

Second Place MS Poster – Mr. Shawn Beam

Endowment Award – Ms. Shannon Auell, Mr. Nick Basinger, Mr. Matthew Bertucci

Officers and Memberships

Newly Elected Officers:

Vice President: Ms. Kelly Liberator, BASF Corporation

Executive Director (Academia): Dr. Matthew Vann, North Carolina State University, Department of Crop Science.

Executive Director (At-Large): Dr. Alexander Stewart, NC Department of Agriculture and Consumer Science.

Student Representative: Mr. Nick Basinger, North Carolina State University, Department of Horticulture.

Distinguished Service Award

Tom Hunt, Retired, American Cyanamid

Adjournment