WEED SCIENCE SOCIETY OF NORTH CAROLINA

Minutes

Annual Meeting

March 11, 2015

J. C. Raulston Arboretum

Ruby C. McSwain Education Center

The **Weed Science Society of North Carolina** held its thirty-third annual meeting at the J. C. Raulston Arboretum on March 11, 2015. President Bart Clewis was unable to attend due to international travel. Vice-President Kevin Clemmer opened the meeting at 9:05 a.m. with a welcome to all. Special guest Dr. Jeff Mullahey, Department Head, Department of Crop Science, addressed the meeting with praise for the Society and its importance to the Crop Science Department. Dr. Mullahey also outlined the department's Strategic Plan.

The title of this year's meeting was: **North Carolina Commodities**. The program consisted of 12 speakers and 16 posters. Attendance for the meeting was 62. Topics and speakers were:

Weed Management Challenges in NC

David Parrish and Guy Collins (NC Cotton Producers Association)

Sod Industry in North Carolina

Mark Harris (NC Sod Producers Association)

NC SweetPotatoes-Opportunities and Challenges

Sue Johnson-Langdon (NC SweetPotato Commission)

Broadening the Response to Herbicide Resistant Weeds in Soybean

Charles Hall (NC Soybean Producers Association.)

NC Invasive Weed Update

Bridget Lassiter (NCDA Weed Regulatory Services)

Timing of Dicamba for Control of Palmer Amaranth in BollGard II XtendFlex Cotton

Charlie Cahoon (NCSU, Department of Crop Science)

Influence of Herbicides on Development of Internal Necrosis in 'Covington' Sweetpotato

Shawn Beam (NCSU, Department of Horticultural Science)

Impact of Tillage on Italian Ryegrass Control in Winter Wheat

Zachary Taylor (NCSU, Department of Crop Science)

Critical Period of Weed Control in Pickling Cucumber

Samuel McGowen (NCSU, Department of Horticultural Science)

Grass Control in Sorghum as Impacted by Cultural Practices and Weed Management Strategy

Thierry Besançon (NCSU, Department of Crop Science)

FeHEDTA: A Bioherbicide for Postemergence Broadleaf Weed Control in Turf

Joseph Wolfe (NCSU, Department of Horticultural Science)

Posters presented:

Narrow Row Spacing in Winter Wheat as a Tool for Managing Italian Ryegrass

Zachary Taylor (NCSU, Department of Crop Science)

Effects of Growth Regulator Rate and Application Timing on Sorghum Growth and Yield

Thierry Besançon (NCSU, Department of Crop Science)

Postemergence Control of Broadleaf Weeds Using the Bioherbicide Thaxtomin A (MBI-005)

Joseph Wolfe (NCSU, Department of Horticultural Science)

Glyphosate Resistant Palmer Amaranth Control in Dicamba Tolerant Soybeans

Anthony Growe (NCSU, Department of Crop Science)

Grain Sorghum and Soybean as Replacement Crops Following a Failed Cotton Stand

Lewis Braswell (NCSU, Department of Crop Science)

Utilizing Hydroacoustic Technology for Aquatic Plant Management

Andrew Howell (NCSU, Department of Crop Science)

Kinetics of Arsenic Species Transformation of Monosodium Methyl Arsenate (MSMA) in

Controlled Systems

Ling Ou (NCSU, Department of Crop Science)

Impact of Grafting on Fresh Market Tomato Weed Management in Plasticulture

Sushila Chaudhari (NCSU, Department of Horticultural Science)

Influence of Herbicides on Development of Internal Necrosis in 'Covington' Sweetpotato

Shawn Beam (NCSU, Department of Horticultural Science)

Influence of Vineyard Floor Competition on Growth, Yield and Berry Quality in Southeastern Vineyards

Nicholas Basinger (NCSU, Department of Horticultural Science)

Weed Control with ALS Herbicide-resistant Grain Sorghum in North Carolina

Liam Vincent (NCSU, Department of Crop Science)

Hydrilla Turion and Tuber Sprouting

Shannon Auell (NCSU, Department of Crop Science)

Crested Floating Heart Assessment at Lake Marion, South Carolina

Evan Calloway (NCSU, Department of Crop Science)

Critical Period for Palmer Amaranth Control in Pickling Cucumber

Samual McGowen (NCSU, Department of Horticultural Science)

Nitrous Oxide (N2O) Output Based on Weed Management Systems

Alexandra Knight (NCSU, Department of Crop Science)

Unique Vegetative Reproduction in 'Nymphoides cristata'

Erika Haug (NCSU, Department of Crop Science)

The Business Meeting was called to order by Vice-President Kevin Clemmer at 2:55 p.m. Dr. Jim Burton presented the student awards for posters. Award Winners were:

Sushila Chaudhari, 1st Place PhD;

Impact of Grafting on Fresh Market Tomato Weed Management in Plasticulture

Thierry Besançon, 2nd Place PhD:

Effects of Growth Regulator Rate and Application Timing on Sorghum Growth and Yield

Nicholas Basinger, 1st Place, MS:

Influence of Vineyard Floor Competition on Growth, Yield and Berry Quality in Southeastern Vineyards

Shannon Auell, 2nd Place, MS:

Hydrilla Turion and Tuber Sprouting

Dr. Burton also presented the Outstanding Graduate Awards.

Outstanding PhD student: Charlie Cahoon
Outstanding MS student: Matthew Inman

A call for industry updates was made. No industry updates were voiced. Rick Seagroves read the minutes from last year's annual meeting. A motion was made to accept the minutes as read; the motion was seconded. The minutes were approved. The result of the election of officers for Board of Directors was read. The newly elected officers were as follows:

Vice President: Cathy Herring, Central Crops RS
Board Member At-Large – Industry: Jenny Cahoon, Bayer CropScience

Board Member At-Large – Student Rep: Erika Haug, PhD student

Mr. Seagroves presented new Business items. This year the Society initiated an online payment system through PayPal. Each online payment of \$30 cost the Society \$1.17. There was majority participation and comments were favorable. Online payments totaled \$1,212.96. We plan to offer this again in 2016 and would like to combine online registration and payment.

Meeting expenses this year came to \$850, plus award amounts. Student award checks to be given out at a later date. Checking account balance on March 11 was \$3,064.53. This included online payments, but did not include registration fees collected at the meeting. Dr. Jim Burton stated that the money market account was around \$20,000. There was no endowment report.

Another item of interest was a request from the Dean's office for a \$1,000 contribution to the Plant Sciences Initiative. Rick Seagroves read the letter received and several informational items were passed out detailing the Initiative. The letter indicated we could contribute \$1,000 all at once or take up to five years. If we acted timely, the full amount would be matched by the NC Agricultural & Life Sciences Research Foundation. If the Initiative is not funded by the legislature, a refund of the contribution could be requested. During discussions, concerns were voiced as to what benefit this would be for Weed Science. It was also suggested that the Crop Science Department Head could be involved. The comment was made that there is already a plan for a new facility at Lake Wheeler and perhaps there could be a sharing of some sort with the Plant Sciences Initiative. It was suggested that a survey of the membership be taken after more information could be obtained.

There was no Old Business.

The gavel was passed from Bart Clewis, in absensia, to Kevin Clemmer. Meeting was adjourned at 3:20 p.m.

2015/2016 Officers for Weed Science Society of North Carolina are:

President: Kevin Clemmer Vice President: Cathy Herring Past President: **Bart Clewis** Steve Hoyle Secretary / Treasurer: Wes Everman Executive Director (Academia): Executive Director (At-Large): Ken Teeter Executive Director (Industry): Jenny Cahoon **Executive Director Student:** Erika Haug Editor/Website: Rick Seagroves