

# WEED SCIENCE SOCIETY OF NORTH CAROLINA

Proceedings of the 32<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting of the Weed Science Society of North Carolina March 12, 2014

"Resistance Management and Emerging Technologies"

### TABLE OF CONTENTS

Opening Remarks – Dr. Jim Burton, President, WSSNC

# **Guest Speakers**

- 1. Ralph Lassiter, DOW. "Enlist Technology"
- 2. Bill Peele, Consultant. "On Farm Strategies"
- 3. Walter Thomas, BASF. "Use of Engenia Herbicide in Dicamba Tolerant Cropping Systems"
- 4. Wayne Mitchem, NCSU. "Orchard Resistance Management"
- 5. Fred Yelverton, NCSU. "Turf Resistance Management"
- 6. Katie Jennings, NCSU. "Herbicide Resistant Palmer Amaranth: A Challenge in Sweet Potato"
- 7. Rob Richardson, NCSU. "Resistance in Aquatic Environments"
- 8. Wesley Everman NCSU. "Corn, Soybean, and Cereals Resistance Management"

### **Student Presentations**

- 9. Bryan Hicks, "Tolerance of Miscanthus x giganteus to PRE and POST Herbicide Applications"
- 10. R. Eric Paynter, "Investigating Synthetic Auxin Combinations with Plant Growth Regulators to Enhance Control of Palmer Amaranth"
- 11. Justin Nawrocki, "Using Bioacoustics to Survey Submersed Aquatic Vegetation"
- 12. D.J. Mahoney, "Fate of Arsenic in a Managed Turfgrass System Following MSMA Applications"
- 13. Nick Basinger, "Effect on Herbicide Strip Width and Late Season Weed Competition on Wine Grape Growth, Yield and Fruit Quality"

## **Business Meeting**

Dr. Jim Burton, President, WSSNC.

### **Awards and Contests**

Outstanding PhD Student – Ms. Sushila Chaudhari

Outstanding MS Student – Mr. DJ Mahoney

First Place PhD Poster – Mr. Charlie Cahoon

Second Place PhD Poster – Ms. Sushila Chaudhari

Third Place PhD Poster – Mr. Matthew Vann

First Place MS Poster – Mr. Lewis Braswell

Second Place MS Poster – Ms. Logan Grier

Third Place MS Poster – Mr. Matt Inman

Endowment Award – Ms. Sushila Chaudhari, Mr. Charlie Cahoon

# Officers and Memberships

Newly Elected Officers:

Vice President: Mr. Kevin Clemmer, NC DOT

Executive Director (Academia): Dr. Wes Everman, North Carolina State University,

Department of Crop Science

Executive Director (At-Large): Mr. Ken Teeter, Syngenta

Student Representative: Mr. Lewis Braswell, North Carolina State University, Department

of Crop Science

### **Distinguished Service Award**

Rick Seagroves, North Carolina State University, Department of Crop Science

### Adjournment