

# WEED SCIENCE SOCIETY OF NORTH CAROLINA

# Proceedings of the 29<sup>th</sup> annual meeting of the Weed Science Society of North Carolina March 10, 2011

### TABLE OF CONTENTS

Opening Remarks - Travis Gannon, President, WSSNC

### **Guest Speakers**

- 1. The Importance of Herbicides to US Agriculture Leonard Gianessi, Crop Protection Institute
- 2. Herbicide Regulations: A University Perspective Dr. Tom Mueller, University of Tennessee, Department of Plant Sciences
- 3. *Update on Drift Control Regulations* Patrick Jones, NCDA&CS, Structural Pest Control and Pesticides Division
- 4. *Drift Regulations: An Industry Perspective* Dr. Scott Jackson, BASF Ag Prod., Regulatory
- 5. New Risk Mitigation Measures for Soil Fumigants Bob Bruss, NCDA&CS, Structural Pest Control and Pesticides Division
- The Political Economy of Pesticide Regulations Dr. Michele Marra, NCSU, Ag and Resource Economics
- 7. Pesticide Environmental Stewardship Dr. Wayne Buhler, NCSU, Department of Horticultural Science
- 8. How Does EPA Assess the Safety of a Pesticide? Dr. Jerry Wells, Syngenta, Product Registration

### **Student Presentations**

- 9. Use of AFLP Markers to Assess Genetic Diversity in Palmer Amaranth Biotypes and Elucidating Inheritance of Evolved Resistance to Glyphosate -Ms. Aman Chandi, NCSU, Department of Crop Science
- 10. Weed Control with Selected Herbicides When Spray Application is Delayed Mr. Peter Eure, NCSU, Department of Crop Science

11. Cotton, Peanut, Soybean, and Tobacco Response to Simulated Drift Rates of Dicamba, Glufosinate, and 2,4-D – Ms. Jenny Johnson, NCSU, Department of Crop Science

### **Business Meeting**

Minutes – John Harden, Secretary/Treasurer

The Business Meeting was called to order by President Travis Gannon.

Dr. David Jordan will take over as president of the WSSNC after Adam Hixson stepped down in his relocation to Lubbock, Texas.

The newly elected officers were as follows:

Vice President: Walter Thomas
Board Member At Large – Industry: John Sanderson
Board Member At large – Academia: Leon Warren
Graduate Student Representative: Dustin Lewis

Minutes of the past meeting were read and approved.

Treasure report was given by John Harden. The cost of the 2010 meeting was \$2529.10. Income from membership was \$2410.61. Balance of January 31st was \$6270.48.

Endowment report was given by John Harden for Tom Monaco. As of July 1, 2010 the balance was \$15004.75. On December 31, 2010, the balance was \$16401.43. From January 1 to March 1, 2011 the account made \$170.00. Endowment contributions at registration totaled \$115.00. The Endowment currently stands at a balance of \$16686.03.

The Morgan Stanley report was given by David Jordan. Current balance is \$30000.00.

Walter Thomas presented the student awards for posters. Award Winners were:

Dustin Lewis, 1st Place PhD; Aquatic Plant Injury from Herbicide Residues in Turfgrass Clippings.
Sarah T. Meadows, 2nd Place PhD; Control of Monoecious Hydrilla with Endothall Over Two Years.
Rory Roten, MS; Absorption and Translocation of inocyclopyrachlor in Loblolly Pine.
Sherrie Ermine, MS; Porcelain berry, Brushkiller, and Virginia Creeper in Interspecific Competition.

Jim Burton presented the Outstanding Graduate Awards
Outstanding PhD student: Gurinderbir Chahal

Outstanding MS student: Rory Roten

Jim Burton presented the Distinguished Service Award to Dr. David Jordan.

There was no Old Business.

The gavel was passed from Dr. Travis Gannon to Dr. David Jordan. Meeting was adjourned.

2011 Officers for Weed Science Society of North Carolina are:

President: David Jordan Vice President: Walter Thomas Travis Gannon Past President: Secretary / Treasurer: John Harden Executive Director (Academia): Leon Warren Executive Director (At-Large): John Sanderson Executive Director (Industry): Glenn Ferrand **Executive Director Student: Dustin Lewis** Editor: Glenn Oliver Website Coordinator: Rick Seagroves

### Awards and Contests – Walter Thomas/Jim Burton

Outstanding Ph. D. student – Mr. Gurinderbir Chahal Outstanding MS student – Mr. Rory Roten First Place Ph. D. poster – Mr. Dustin Lewis Second Place Ph. D. poster – Mr. Sarah T. Meadows First Place MS poster – Mr. Rory Roten Second Place MS poster – Mr. Sherrie Ermine

# Officers and Membership

Newly Elected Officers:

Vice President – Walter Thomas Executive Director (At-Large) – John Sanderson Executive Director (Academia) – Leon Warren Student Representative – Dustin Lewis

## **Distinguished Service Award** – Jim Burton

Awarded to Dr. David Jordan

### Adjournment