

WEED SCIENCE SOCIETY OF NORTH CAROLINA

Proceedings of the 28th annual meeting of the Weed Science Society of North Carolina March 11, 2010

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Opening Remarks - Loren Fisher, President, WSSNC

Guest Speakers

- 1. Environmental Fate as a Regulatory Science Dr. Ralph Warren, BASF
- 2. Federal Regulatory Issues Affecting Weed Science Dr. Harold Coble, USDA, Office of Pest Management Policy
- 3. Status of NPDES Permits for Pesticide Applications Based on Decision by the 6th Circuit Court of Appeals Dr. Henry Wade, NCDA, Environmental Programs
- 4. Witchweed in NC: the Past, Present, and Future Mr. Rick Iverson, NCDA, Plant Protection Section
- 5. Contemporary Issues Facing Weed Science Dr. Fred Yelverton, NCSU, Department of Crop Science
- 6. *Management of Herbicide Resistant Weeds* Dr. Scott Hagood, VA Tech, Department of Plant Pathology, Physiology, and Weed Science
- 7. Current Weed Management Issues: A Consultant's Perspective Mr. Billy McLawhorn, McLawhorn Crop Services

Student Presentations

- 8. Absorption and Translocation of ¹⁴C-glyphosate in Beach Vitex -Ms. Sarah True, NCSU, Department of Crop Science
- 9. *Monoecious Hydrilla Tuber Dynamics in North Carolina* Mr. Jason Nawrocki, NCSU, Department of Crop Science
- 10. Effect of Ambient Moisture on Aminocyclopyrachlor Efficacy Mr. Dustin Lewis, NCSU, Department of Crop Science
- 11. Bell Pepper Tolerance and Weed Control with Imazosulfuron and Thifensulfuron Mr. Peter Dittmar, NCSU, Department of Crop Science

12. Efficacy of Glyphosate as Influenced by Water Quality and Co-Applied Agrichemicals - Mr. Gurinderbir Chahal, NCSU, Department of Crop Science

Crop Science Seminar – Dr. Alan York, NCSU, Department of Crop Science "Four Weeds of Most Concern"

Board Meeting

Minutes – John Harden, Secretary/Treasurer

The business meeting was called to order by President Loren Fisher.

Adam Hixson presented the student awards. Award winners were:

Stephen Myers; 1st place PhD Poster:

Palmer amaranth (Amaranthus palmeri) Interference in Sweetpotato. .

Dustin Lewis; 2nd place PhD Poster:

Effect of Simulated Aminocyclopyrachlor Drift on Flue-Cured Tobacco..

Trevor Israel: 1st place MS Poster:

An Evaluation of Aminocyclopyrachlor of Aquatic Weed Control.

Peter Eure: 2nd place MS Poster:

Evaluation of Herbicide Efficacy in Situations Where Spray Application is

Delayed

Peter Dittmar: Outstanding PhD Student. Justin Nawrocki: Outstanding MS Student

Endowment Report: Tom Monaco

\$15,000 balance

\$95 donation March 2010

Due to the Market Status – no student award was made for 2010

Morgan Stanley Report: David Jordan

\$25,000 Balance

Treasure Report: John Harden

Cost of the 2009 meeting was \$2,014.69. Income from membership was

\$1,966.65.

Balance of January 30th was \$7404.29.

There was no Old Business.

New Business:

New Officers:

Election results were reported.

Vice President: Adam Hixson
Executive Director (Industry): Glenn Ferrand
Student Representative: Sarah True

2010 Officers for Weed Science Society of North Carolina are

President: Travis Gannon
Vice President: Adam Hixson
Past President: Loren Fisher
Secretary / Treasurer: John Harden
Executive Director (Academia): Rick Seagroves

Executive Director (At-Large): Wick Wickliffe
Executive Director (Industry): Glenn Ferrand
Executive Director Student: Sarah True
Editor: Glenn Oliver
Website Coordinator: Rick Seagroves

Meeting was adjourned:

Awards and Contests – Adam Hixson

Outstanding Ph. D. student – Mr. Peter Dittmar Outstanding MS student – Mr. Justin Nawrocki First Place Ph. D. Poster – Mr. Stephen Myers Second Place Ph. D. Poster – Mr. Dustin Lewis First Place MS Poster – Mr. Trevor Israel Second Place MS Poster – Mr. Peter Eure

Officers and Membership

Newly Elected Officers:

Vice President – Mr. Adam Hixson Executive Director (Industry) – Mr. Glenn Ferrand Student Representative – Ms. Sarah True

Adjournment