

WEED SCIENCE SOCIETY OF NORTH CAROLINA

Proceedings of the 26th Annual Meeting of the Weed Science Society of North Carolina March 6, 2008

"Herbicide Resistance – Practical Answers and Probable Solutions"

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Opening Remarks – Tom McKemie, President, WSSNC

Guest Speakers

- 1. David Monks State of NCSU Weed Science, an administrative perspective
- 2. Tom Hunt Current status and future direction of the agrichemical Industry
- 3. Fred Yelverton Trends in turfgrass weed management
- 4. Alan York Herbicide resistance in field crops
- 5. Jim Burnette Current pesticide enforcement issues from NCDA
- 6. Nicholas George Biofuel crops in NC: current status and future expectations
- 7. Anthony Man-Son-Hing New invasive/noxious plant issues from APHIS
- 8. Bo Burns Trends in aquatic plant management
- 9. Nancy Fraley A National Park Service view of invasive plants
- 10. Betsy Brabson Organizing a successful multi-state education and eradication program for beach vitex.

Student Presentations

- 11. George Place Improving Weed Suppressive Ability in Soybean.
- 12. M.M. Coneybeer Ecology of Maryland Meadowbeauty (Rhexia mariana L.) in blueberry (Vaccinium corymbosum).

- 13. R.A. Pekarek Systems utilizing 'Caliente' mustard S-metolachlor and V10142 for weed management in bell pepper.
- 14. Angela Post Cardamine weed species in United States nurseries.

Business Meeting

Tom McKemie, President, WSSNC.

Awards and Contests

Outstanding PhD Student – Mr. Adam Hixson

Outstanding MS Student – Mr. Ryan Pekarek

First Place PhD Poster – Mr. Jared Whitaker

Second Place PhD Poster – Mr. Peter Dittmar

First Place MS Poster – Mr. Ryan Pekarek

Second Place MS Poster – Ms. Angela Post

WSSNC Scholarship – Mr. Ryan Pekarek

Officers

2008 - 2009 BOARD OF DIRECTORS

President: Rob Richardson, N. C. State University

Past President: Tom McKemie, BASF Vice-President: Caren Judge, BASF Secretary-Treasurer: John Harden, BASF

Executive Directors:

Academia: Joe Neal, N.C. State University

Industry: Kyle Keller, BASF

At-Large: Paul Garvey, Agriculture Systems Associates Student Representative: Lela Walker, N.C. State University

Distinguished Service Award

John Wilcut (Presented posthumously)

Adjournment